It’s been a while…but I’ve been around


I’ve been nursing some wounds.

Some are healing quite nicely and others – I have not had the temerity to inspect.

I am only just recovering from the election results. Stupefying, to say the least.

But I won’t get into that right now. It still hurts. But I should have made an allowance for this kind of hurt.

The kind of hurt that only happens to people that hope. You see hope is such an expensive emotion, not to be dispensed with in a casual way.

Because when you hope, the only currency you can use to trade in that emotion is a piece of your soul. Aah, it hurts.

I think hope is so intertwined to our soul, so interwoven to our deepest aspirations that the disappointment of not gaining what we hoped for is a blow to the soul.

But I don’t want to talk about that and I know you don’t want to read about that.

And even before the hurt of the election results happened, I was already hurting. Trying to come to terms with the death of one of my most beloved uncles – Paul Mambo. Maybe one day when it doesn’t hurt so much, I will blog about him. But right now it hurts.

You know the kind of hurting that hurts so bad you can’t even pinpoint its specific location? You know that funny solidarity that the body, the mind, the soul and the heart show by hurting on behalf of whatever hurts -: until you’re just a mass of hurt.

Aah, it is too much.

Anyway, I just stopped by to say “it’s been a while” and I’m hoping you’ve been keeping well.

6 thoughts on “It’s been a while…but I’ve been around

  1. Bhekilzwe B Ndlovu says:

    Delta you are such a writer. you write from your heart, you describe feeling with such prowess, you argue with yourself and in the process make me see the argument within myself. I adore your writing

  2. Munya says:

    I think hope is so intertwined to our soul, so interwoven to our deepest aspirations that the disappointment of not gaining what we hoped for is a blow to the soul…. this is just amazing … maybe that’s why the bible says that hope deferred makes a heart sick.
    Hope that does not bring tangible results will in the end destroy us, but should we not hope for a brighter day, a better smile, better job and a better tomorrow. Will we rather find a safe place to protect ourselves from the hurt that might pounce on us if the dream does not come true. the hurt, the lost opportunity and the counting of all that could have been makes life worthwhile. It makes us realise that we are only but human and once in a while we fail to be, we fall below the mark, and yet we hope again, for hope is the fuel, the energy and the zeal that is needed to drive us from a place of mediocrity to a place of significance. hopes takes to places where our intellect could not have figured. so Delta, dont lose hope for a better, brighter and warmer tomorrow

  3. shalz says:

    hey delta yes its been a while i have missed your writing coz its all done from deep within and neither do you mince your words u such an inspiration and i always look forward to your blogs – thanks… all i can say now is you a strong woman somehow you will be fine!

Leave a Reply

