At my strongest – I am the mother of Simphiwe


There are many things I am uncertain of, even fearful about but the greatest of them is my fear of failing you, my child.

Simphiwe - your name means 'we have been given' - and boy, am I glad  I got blessed with you!

Simphiwe – your name means ‘we have been given’ – and boy, am I glad I got blessed with you!


It is inconceivable to me to ever give up, ever give in or ever lose hope regardless of life’s endless obstacles because I know whatever becomes of me, will have a huge impact in what will become of you.

I refuse to be the one that lets you down. Ever.

You are the balm that heals me, much faster and more effective than waiting for the ministration of time.

Ever since you were a baby, nothing soothed my spirit like holding you close, breathing in the sweet scent of you and feeling the familiar flood of emotion that swept away any other feeling save for my all-consuming love for you and with it, my determination to always be strong for you.

At my strongest, I am your mother.

This is the identity in which I am all but invincible for I would kill before I let myself fail you and I will always push myself to the limits and beyond in protecting your interests.

For you, I would brave anything, endure everything, sacrifice all things and soldier on whatever comes my way.

At my strongest, I am the mother of Simphiwe… and the converse is true because at my weakest, I am the mother of Simphiwe.

You are my weakness, my vulnerability, the chink in my armor and the reason I will always be prepared, willing and able to place myself between you and harm.

I thank God for you.

8 thoughts on “At my strongest – I am the mother of Simphiwe

  1. Blessing says:

    So sweet,touching and wonderfully put together.

  2. ntandoejm says:

    I know the feeling all too well. The fear of failing them.
    Sent from my BlackBerry® wireless device

  3. This is so great and inspiring.

  4. Valerie says:

    Delta
    I have great admiration for your way with words.
    I have been stalking your blog religiously and have expanded so much
    taking in so much from a woman I share so many of lives experiences with.
    Keep up the good work.

  5. Valerie says:

    Delta
    I have great admiration for your way with words.
    I have been stalking your blog religiously and have expanded so much
    taking in so much from a woman I share so many of lives experiences with.
    Keep up the good work.

  6. Beautiful, I can relate as a mother!

  7. I am impressed by this motherly love (super mother).

  8. Yvonne says:

    I am touched. Was feeling so low coz I am away from my kids. Sometimes I think am so crazily in love with my kids and its abnormal. At least I now feel that there are other mothers out there who feel the way I feel and thanks Delta for putting the words together to covey such a powerful message. Its not only about Simpiwe, but all the loved and cared for kids out there, especially mine. I cant help but say, at my strongest and weakest, I am Makomborero and Maita’s mother!

Leave a Reply

